Travel Information

Home > Travel Information > Entry to Japan

Entry to Japan

The Japanese government has made the visa waiver agreement with 62 countries and regions. Nationals of these countries and regions are not required to have a visa to visit Japan. These countries and regions include Republic of Korea, Taiwan, the United States of America, Canada and most of (not all of!) EU countries. Please note that People's Republic of China, Russia and India are not included in the list. The list of 62 countries and regions can be found in here.

In May 2006, the Immigration Bureau of Japan announced the new immigration procedures which require all foregin nationals entering Japan to be fingerprinted (index fingers of both hands) and photographed. Regrettably, this new policy is now in place since 20th November 2007.

Information regarding Japanese visa and entry procedures can be found in following links.





Important Dates

Travel Information

On-site Information




Related Links


by μSR2008 Local Organizing Commitee
contact e-mails:
registration desk:sec(at)
technical assistance:msr08web(at)
conference chairs: msr08(at)