Home > Circulars > 1st Circular

1st Circular (02 August 2007)

"First Announcement of the 11th International Conference on Muon Spin Rotation, Relaxation, and Resonance"

Dear Colleagues,
We are pleased to inform you that the next International Conference on Muon Spin Rotation, Relaxation, and Resonance will be held in Tsukuba, Japan, 21-25th July 2008. This will be the 11th in the series of conferences that are held every three years and that cover all aspects of the theory, practice, and applications of muon spectroscopy in molecular, condensed matter, and materials science. The 2008 conference is being jointly organized by the KEK Muon Science Laboratory, RIKEN Nishina Center, and JAEA Advanced Science Research Center.
Tsukuba, the second largest city in the Ibaraki prefecture, is the national showcase for cutting-edge research and high tech development in all fields of science. The city hosts nearly one third of the national research institutes and many of those founded by the private companies. It is also known by the Mt. Tsukuba at the north of the city which is a historical landmark of the Kanto Plain, celebrated in verse since 7th century (the Nara period). The city center, where the conference site is located, is evolving rapidly as it is now directly connected to the downtown Tokyo by a train service "Tsukuba Express (TX, since 2005)". It is just 45~50 min ride to reach Asakusa and Akihabara (the downtown Tokyo) from the Tsukuba station near the conference site. Thus, TX will offer you a variety of choices for touring around the downtown Tokyo. The city center is also directly connected to Narita International Airport by hourly shuttle bus service (1 hour & 40 min ride) for the easy access of foreign visitors. The J-PARC site is located about an hour drive from the conference site so that many of you can take a short visit to the brand-new facilities.
Those who are interested in receiving updated information on the conference are encouraged to send e-mail to or to visit our Web page at

Yours sincerely,
Chairman: K. Nishiyama
Co-Chairmen: W. Higemoto and T. Matsuzaki

<<Click here to download a pdf file>>





Important Dates

Travel Information

On-site Information




Related Links


by μSR2008 Local Organizing Commitee
contact e-mails:
registration desk:sec(at)
technical assistance:msr08web(at)
conference chairs: msr08(at)